Presentation of the Honorary Award of the German Africa Foundation 2024 to Oumar Diallo

Oumar Diallo has been running the Africa House in Berlin-Moabit for 30 years and is committed to breaking down prejudices, combating racism and promoting international understanding between Germany and Africa. The Africa House, which has quickly become a recognised institution in Berlin’s cultural scene, regularly hosts concerts, exhibitions, readings and political discussions. For the sociology graduate from Guinea, the main aim is to communicate tolerance and acceptance – but also to break down clichés about the African continent.

Another of Diallo’s key concerns is to create greater visibility and awareness of German colonial history. To this end, he not only organises regular walks through Berlin on the theme ‘In the footsteps of colonialism’, but also initiated the erection of an information and memorial plaque last year at the former headquarters of the German Colonial Society in Berlin’s Tiergarten district, which was also known as the ‘Africa House’.

Thanks to Oumar Diallo’s personal commitment, the Africa House in Moabit, which is run by the Farafina e.V. association, is now recognised far beyond Berlin as an important place for cultural encounters. In recognition of his commitment, Diallo is now being awarded the Honorary Award of the German Africa Foundation 2024.

We cordially invite you to the presentation of the Honorary Award of the German Africa Foundation 2024 to Oumar Diallo.



Welcome Remarks:

Dr Uschi Eid, President, German Africa Foundation


Laudatory Rpeech:

Dr Konrad Melchers, Journalist and former editor-in-chief of the magazine „einsEntwicklungspolitik“

Joe Chialo,
Senator for Culture and Social Cohesion Berlin


Oumar Diallo, Honorary Laureate and Sabine Odhiambo, Secretary General, German Africa Foundation


Closing Remarks:

Dr Karamba Diaby MP Member of the Committees on Foreign Affairs and Economic Cooperation and Development and Member of the Board of the German Africa Foundation


Please register here by 17 June 2024.

Honorary Award Laureates
No Results