Daniel Bekele, Preisträger Deutscher Afrika-Preis 2021
Daniel Bekele (Ethiopia)
Winner of the German Africa Award 2021

Dr. Daniel Bekele is being honored for his lifelong fight for human rights. Daniel Bekele is currently the Chief Commissioner of the Ethiopian Human Rights Commission (EHRC).

The German Africa Award of the German Africa Foundation has been awarded annually for over 25 years to outstanding personalities from the African continent and is the highest award of its kind in Germany. Traditionally, it is presented in a formal ceremony in the fall by a leading representative of German politics. In 2020, the prize had been awarded to Somali peace activist Ilwad Elman. Daniel Bekele is scheduled to receive the prize in November 2021. An independent 24-member jury of experts from politics, political foundations and the media selected Daniel Bekele from more than 30 nominees.

Daniel Bekele’s commitment to human rights began early: at the age of only 23, he started working as a lawyer in Addis Ababa, represented NGOs and quickly became a much sought-after expert on democracy and human rights. He promoted human rights and civil society in Ethiopia including women’s rights by working closely with Ethiopian Women Lawyers Association and several CSOs. In 2004, Daniel became “Head of Policy Research and Advocacy” at ActionAid in Ethiopia. He was one of the leading activists of the Global Call to Action Against Poverty. As a representative of civil society, he took a leading role in monitoring Ethiopia’s 2005 parliamentary elections. After criticizing the questionable conduct of the elections and its violent aftermath, he was attacked and injured by armed government security operatives in October 2005. In November 2005, he was arrested and subsequently sentenced to prison on trumped up charges of trying to “overthrow the government and the constitution.” He remained in prison as an internationally recognized nonviolent political prisoner until March 2008.

Daniel’s determination to advocate for the political rights of disadvantaged populations in particular has not been diminished by his imprisonment. Between 2011 and 2019, he held senior leadership positions at Human Rights Watch and Amnesty International to promote human rights on the African continent and was responsible for hundreds of publications on a wide range of human rights and good governance issues in Africa.

Daniel is convinced that socio-economic development should go hand in hand with respect for human rights and democratic development; and is therefore not afraid to also criticize the donor countries of the North for their unprincipled cooperation with authoritarian regimes as well as their failure on the humanitarian obligations to support the development of poor countries.

In the wake of Ethiopia‘s democratic opening under Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed, the Ethiopian Federal Parliament appointed Daniel Bekele to lead the Ethiopian State Human Rights Commission (EHRC) in July 2019.

Since then, Daniel significantly transformed the commission and successfully advocated for greater independence and expansion of the powers of the Commission: In July 2020, an amendment to the law was passed in parliament to strengthen the Commission’s operational and financial autonomy.

The deteriorating political climate in Ethiopia and the civil war over Tigray Province in the north of the country present the Commission with the difficult task of fairly assessing the human rights violations of the parties involved in a politically charged atmosphere. Not surprisingly, the Commission has also been subject to criticism in this context.

Most recently, the commission was praised for its open criticism of the Ethiopian security forces‘ misconduct in the wake of the unrest following the murder of Oromo activist and singer Hachalu Hundessa in July 2020. The commission also advocated a fair trial for imprisoned opposition politicians such as that of opposition activist Jawar Mohammed and Eskinder Nega. Besides the public advocacy work, the Commission also worked behind the scenes for improving prison conditions, release of detainees and facilitating conditions for political impasse such as hunger strikes by opposition politicians. Bekele‘s addressing the presence of Eritrean troops on Ethiopian territory at a time when it was still taboo was also met with respect by observers, as was his openness for criticism of his Commission’s human rights work.

Testament to the international reputation and credibility of Daniel’s Commission is the ongoing joint investigation with the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights on a report on the human rights violations committed by all sides in the course of the Tigray conflict. The investigation was endorsed by several governments including the EU, US, Canada, Australia and the UN Security Council.

The President of the German Africa Foundation, Dr. Uschi Eid, said on the occasion of the announcement of the award of the German Africa Award to Daniel Bekele: „I am pleased that the independent jury has chosen an outstanding human rights activist. Dr. Daniel Bekele deserves this prize for his lifelong advocacy of human rights. I sincerely hope that the award will encourage Daniel and his colleagues in the Ethiopian Human Rights Commission to stand up for human rights in Ethiopia in a fearless and impartial manner.“

Download the official Press Release here: German-Africa-Foundation-Press-Release-German-Africa-Award-2021-Daniel-Bekele

Laureates German Africa Price

Daniel Bekele, Preisträger Deutscher Afrika-Preis 2021
Daniel Bekele (Äthiopien)
Träger des Deutschen Afrika-Preises 2021

Dr. Daniel Bekele wird für seinen lebenslangen Kampf für die Menschenrechte geehrt. Bekele ist derzeit Chef der äthiopischen Menschenrechtskommission (EHRC).

Der Deutsche Afrika-Preis der Deutschen Afrika Stiftung wird seit über 25 Jahren jährlich an herausragende Persönlichkeiten des afrikanischen Kontinents verliehen und ist die höchste Auszeichnung ihrer Art in Deutschland. Er wird traditionell im Herbst in einer feierlichen Zeremonie von einem führenden Vertreter der deutschen Politik überreicht. Im Jahr 2020 wurde der Preis an die somalische Friedensaktivistin Ilwad Elman verliehen.

Daniel Bekele wird den Preis voraussichtlich im November 2021 erhalten. Eine unabhängige 24-köpfige Jury aus Experten aus Politik, politischen Stiftungen und den Medien wählte Daniel Bekele unter mehr als 30 Nominierten aus.

Daniel Bekele hat sich schon früh für die Menschenrechte engagiert: Mit nur 23 Jahren begann er als Anwalt in Addis Abeba zu arbeiten, vertrat NGOs und wurde schnell zu einem gefragten Experten für Demokratie und Menschenrechte. Er förderte die Menschenrechte und die Zivilgesellschaft in Äthiopien, einschließlich der Rechte der Frauen, indem er eng mit der Ethiopian Women Lawyers Association und mehreren zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen zusammenarbeitete. Im Jahr 2004 wurde Daniel „Head of Policy Research and Advocacy“ bei ActionAid in Äthiopien. Er war einer der führenden Aktivisten des Global Call to Action Against Poverty. Als Vertreter der Zivilgesellschaft übernahm er eine leitende Rolle bei der Überwachung der Parlamentswahlen in Äthiopien 2005. Nachdem er die fragwürdige Durchführung der Wahlen und deren gewaltsame Folgen kritisiert hatte, wurde er im Oktober 2005 von bewaffneten Sicherheitskräften der Regierung angegriffen und verletzt. Im November 2005 wurde er verhaftet und anschließend unter dem Vorwurf des „Umsturzes der Regierung und der Verfassung“ zu einer Gefängnisstrafe verurteilt. Als international anerkannter gewaltloser politischer Gefangener blieb er bis März 2008 im Gefängnis.

Daniel Bekeles Entschlossenheit, sich für die politischen Rechte insbesondere benachteiligter Bevölkerungsgruppen einzusetzen, wurde durch seine Inhaftierung nicht geschmälert. Zwischen 2011 und 2019 war er in leitenden Positionen bei Human Rights Watch und Amnesty International tätig, um die Menschenrechte auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent voranzubringen, und zeichnete für Hunderte von Veröffentlichungen zu einer Vielzahl von Menschenrechts- und Good-Governance-Themen in Afrika verantwortlich.

Daniel Bekele ist davon überzeugt, dass die sozioökonomische Entwicklung mit der Achtung der Menschenrechte und der demokratischen Entwicklung einhergehen sollte. Er scheut sich daher nicht, auch die Geberländer des Nordens für ihre Zusammenarbeit mit autoritären Regimen und ihr Versagen bei der Erfüllung ihrer humanitären Verpflichtungen zur Unterstützung der Entwicklung armer Länder zu kritisieren.

Im Zuge der demokratischen Öffnung Äthiopiens unter Premierminister Abiy Ahmed ernannte das äthiopische Parlament Daniel Bekele im Juli 2019 zum Leiter der staatlichen äthiopischen Menschenrechtskommission (EHRC). Seitdem hat Bekele die Kommission erheblich umgestaltet und sich erfolgreich für eine größere Unabhängigkeit und eine Ausweitung der Befugnisse der Kommission eingesetzt: Im Juli 2020 wurde im Parlament eine Gesetzesänderung verabschiedet, um die operative und finanzielle Autonomie der Kommission zu stärken.

Das sich verschlechternde politische Klima in Äthiopien und der Bürgerkrieg um die Provinz Tigray im Norden des Landes stellen die Kommission vor die schwierige Aufgabe, die Menschenrechtsverletzungen der beteiligten Parteien in einer politisch aufgeladenen Atmosphäre fair zu bewerten. Es überrascht nicht, dass die Kommission in diesem Zusammenhang auch Kritik ausgesetzt war.

Zuletzt wurde die Kommission für ihre offene Kritik am Fehlverhalten der äthiopischen Sicherheitskräfte im Zuge der Unruhen nach der Ermordung des Oromo-Aktivisten und Sängers Hachalu Hundessa im Juli 2020 gelobt. Die Kommission setzte sich auch für ein faires Verfahren für inhaftierte Oppositionspolitiker ein, etwa für die Oppositionsaktivisten Jawar Mohammed und Eskinder Nega. Neben der öffentlichen Lobbyarbeit arbeitete die Kommission hinter den Kulissen auch für die Verbesserung der Haftbedingungen, die Freilassung von Häftlingen und die Erleichterung der Bedingungen für politische Ausnahmesituationen wie etwa Hungerstreiks von Oppositionspolitikern. Dass Bekele die Präsenz eritreischer Truppen auf äthiopischem Territorium zu einer Zeit ansprach, als dies noch ein Tabu war, wurde von Beobachtern ebenso respektiert wie seine Offenheit für Kritik an der Menschenrechtsarbeit seiner Kommission.

Ein Beleg für das internationale Ansehen und die Glaubwürdigkeit von Daniel Bekeles Kommission ist die laufende gemeinsame Untersuchung mit dem Hochkommissariat für Menschenrechte der Vereinten Nationen für einen Bericht über die von allen Seiten im Verlauf des Tigray-Konflikts begangenen Menschenrechtsverletzungen. Die gemeinsame Untersuchung wurde von einer Reihe von Regierungen, darunter die EU, den USA, Kanada, Australien und dem UN-Sicherheitsrat begrüßt.

Die Präsidentin der Deutschen Afrika Stiftung, Dr. Uschi Eid, sagte anlässlich der Bekanntgabe der Verleihung des Deutschen Afrika-Preises an Daniel Bekele: „Ich freue mich, dass die unabhängige Jury einen herausragenden Menschenrechtsaktivisten ausgewählt hat. Dr. Daniel Bekele hat diesen Preis für sein lebenslanges Eintreten für die Menschenrechte verdient. Ich hoffe sehr, dass die Auszeichnung Daniel und seine Kollegen in der äthiopischen Menschenrechtskommission ermutigen wird, sich unerschrocken und unparteiisch für die Menschenrechte in Äthiopien einzusetzen.“

Die Pressemitteilung zum Download finden Sie hier: Deutsche-Afrika-Stiftung-Pressemitteilung-Deutscher-Afrika-Preis-2021-Daniel-Bekele

Ein Interview von France24 mit Daniel Bekele finden Sie hier.

TrägerInnen Deutscher Afrika-Preis