Verleihung Deutscher Afrika-Preis 2022
Verleihung Deutscher Afrika-Preis 2022
Prof Tulio de Oliveira (South Africa) & Dr Sikhulile Moyo (Botswana)
Laureates of the German Africa Award 2022

You can download the press release here. (Corporate Design)

 

 

Federal Chancellor Olaf Scholz presented the German Africa Award to bioinformatician Prof. Tulio de Oliveira of Stellenbosch University, South Africa, and virologist Dr. Sikhulile Moyo of the Botswana Harvard AIDS Institute Partnership at the Allianz Forum in Berlin on Friday evening, 25 November 2022. The award not only recognises the personal achievements of Prof. de Oliveira and Dr. Moyo, who have been instrumental in the global pandemic response by discovering and immediately reporting the Omikron variant to WHO, but also shines a spotlight on the world-class research being conducted in Botswana and South Africa, Chancellor Scholz said. “Africa is not lagging behind!”

 

But instead of recognising the scientific achievement of the researchers in November 2021, the EU, where the Omicron variant had already spread undetected, reacted by closing itself off – a move that not only strained European-African relations and had a fatal economic impact on the region, but also led to hostility and death threats. In his laudatory speech, Claus Stäcker, President of the German Africa Award jury, underlined the courage and integrity of the two award winners as well as their decision to share their data and findings directly – a matter of course for the two researchers – and thus contribute to global pandemic control.

 

Prof de Oliveira and Dr Moyo are among the absolute top in their fields of research, not only on the African continent. Nevertheless, this potential is not perceived in Europe and the work of African researchers is not recognised. There must be a clear change in perception here, the award winners demand.  The Federal Chancellor also emphasised this and described the two researchers as an “inspiration and incentive to broaden our view, to leave behind old ways of thinking and to establish new partnerships”.

 

Background

The German Africa Foundation (DAS) honours the scientists for their personal achievements in the global fight against the coronavirus pandemic and as representatives of a highly educated, transnational research community that is at the forefront of medical research not only in Africa but also internationally. The world’s first report of a virus variant to the WHO came from South Africa, and it was researchers from Botswana and South Africa who first sounded the alarm about the emergence of the so-called omicron variant: at the end of November last year, Dr Moyo and his team from the Botswana-Harvard AIDS Institute Partnership discovered anomalies in routine genome sequencing PCR tests. Alarmed by the findings, they shared them in the regional research database. At about the same time, a private laboratory in the South African capital of Pretoria also submitted abnormal data to the South African Network for Genome Surveillance (NGS-SA), which conducted further investigations under the direction of Prof de Oliveira, who had already discovered the first mutation of the Corona virus, the so-called beta variant, at the end of 2020. With the help of the test results in South Africa, the comparison with the transmitted data from Botswana and the close coordination with the colleagues there, the NGS-SA was able to inform the Ministry of Health, the WHO and the public about the newly discovered variant, called omicron, shortly afterwards.

 

But instead of recognising the researchers’ scientific achievement, the EU, where the omicron variant had already spread undetected, reacted with rigorous travel restrictions to southern Africa – a move that not only strained European-African relations and had fatal economic repercussions for the region, but also entailed harsh personal consequences for the researchers. Prof de Oliveira and Dr Moyo were held personally responsible for the negative consequences of the travel restrictions and even received death threats, so that the two had to be placed under personal protection at the time. Nevertheless, they continue their excellent work undeterred.

 

Prof Tulio de Oliveira and Dr Sikhulile Moyo are thus a shining example of expertise, integrity and courage and also prove what many in Germany and Europe do not believe to be possible due to the prevailing distorted image of Africa: that top medical research is also at home in Africa and that the continent has successful crisis management in the global pandemic from which Europe can and should learn.

 

Since 1993, the German Africa Foundation (DAS) has been honouring outstanding personalities from the African continent with the German Africa Award© who have made a special contribution to democracy, peace, human rights, sustainable development, research, art and culture or social issues in Africa. The prize is presented by high-ranking German politicians, including Federal Foreign Minister Heiko Maas (2020), Federal Chancellor Dr Angela Merkel (2019) and Federal President Dr Frank-Walter Steinmeier (2017). The DAS is a non-partisan foundation that works for the successful implementation of the German Federal Government’s Africa policy guidelines. One of its core tasks is also to convey a differentiated image of Africa in the political arena and to the German public.

 

Background information on the persons:

Dr Sikhulile Moyo is Laboratory Director at the Botswana-Harvard AIDS Institute Partnership (BHP) and is associated researcher with the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. The BHP is the leading national institution for HIV/AIDS research, training and capacity building in Botswana. Specialising in the human immunodeficiency virus HIV, Moyo, who grew up in Zimbabwe, has made a number of significant contributions to studies on the prevention of mother-to-child transmission of HIV during his career. In addition, he has been responsible for monitoring HIV incidence and has conducted research on HIV mutations associated with drug resistance. It is also thanks to this work that his laboratory was able to perform real-time genome sequencing in the wake of the Corona pandemic.

 

Prof Tulio de Oliveira is Director at the Centre for Epidemiology (CERI) at Stellenbosch University, Director and Co-Founder of the KwaZulu-Natal Research and Innovation Sequencing Platform (KRISP) at the University of KwaZulu-Natal and Director of the South African Network for Genome Surveillance (NGS-SA). Born and raised in Brazil, de Oliveira attended the Nelson Mandela School of Medicine at the University of KwaZulu-Natal after completing his bachelor’s degree, where he obtained his master’s and doctorate. A bioinformatician, he is one of South Africa’s leading researchers and embodies the face of South African excellence in his field in various capacities, including professor of bioinformatics at the School for Data Science and Computational Thinking at Stellenbosch University and lecturer at the College of Health Science at the University of KwaZulu-Natal.

 

Photos of the laureates of the German Africa Award 2022 are available for download hereafter.

 

Copyrights:

Photos of Prof Tulio de Oliveira : ©sun

Pressefoto Tulio de Oliveira 1

Pressefoto Tulio de Oliveira 2

Pressefoto Tulio de Oliveira 3

 

Photos of Dr Sikhulile Moyo: ©bhp

Pressefoto Sikhulile Moyo 1

Pressefoto Sikhulile Moyo 2

 

 

Contact information :

Svenja Schindelwig, Scientific Advisor

schindelwig@deutsche-afrika-stiftung.de

0049 152 2741 87 40

 

Multimedia:

deutsche-afrika-stiftung.de

Twitter: @_DASonline

Instagram: @deutscheafrikastiftung

Laureates German Africa Award

Verleihung Deutscher Afrika-Preis 2022
Verleihung Deutscher Afrika-Preis 2022
Prof. Tulio de Oliveira (Südafrika) & Dr. Sikhulile Moyo (Botsuana)
Träger des Deutschen Afrika-Preises 2022

Hier finden Sie die Rede des Bundeskanzler Olaf Scholz zur Verleihung des Deutschen Afrika-Preises 2022

Hier finden Sie die Laudatio von Claus Stäcker, Präsident der Jury des Deutschen Afrika-Preises

Hier finden Sie die Pressemitteilung der Verkündung zum Download. (25.10.2022, Corporate Design)

 

Bundeskanzler Olaf Scholz überreichte am Freitagabend, 25. November 2022, im Allianz Forum in Berlin, den Deutschen Afrika-Preis an den Bioinformatiker Prof. Tulio de Oliveira von der Universität Stellenbosch, Südafrika, und den Virologen Dr. Sikhulile Moyo vom Botswana Harvard AIDS Institute Partnership. Der Preis würdige nicht nur die persönlichen Leistungen von Prof. de Oliveira und Dr. Moyo, die mit der Entdeckung und unmittelbaren Meldung der Omikron-Variante an die WHO entscheidend zur globalen Pandemiebekämpfung beigetragen haben, sondern rücke auch die Weltklasseforschung, die in Botsuana und Südafrika betrieben wird, ins Rampenlicht, so Bundeskanzler Scholz. „Afrika hinkt nicht hinterher!“

 

Doch statt im November 2021 die wissenschaftliche Leistung der Forscher anzuerkennen, reagierte die EU, in der die Omikron-Variante sich bereits unentdeckt ausgebreitet hatte, mit Abschottung – ein Schritt, der nicht nur die europäisch-afrikanischen Beziehungen belastete und fatale wirtschaftliche Auswirkungen auf die Region hatte, sondern auch zu Anfeindungen und Morddrohungen führte. Claus Stäcker, Präsident der Jury des Deutschen Afrika-Preises, unterstrich in seiner Laudatio den Mut und die Integrität der beiden Preisträger sowie die Entscheidung, ihre Daten und Erkenntnisse unmittelbar zu teilen – für die beiden Forscher eine Selbstverständlichkeit – und somit zur globalen Pandemiebekämpfung beizutragen.

 

Prof. de Oliveira und Dr. Moyo zählen in ihren Forschungsbereichen nicht nur auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent zur absoluten Spitze. Dennoch werde in Europa dieses Potenzial nicht wahrgenommen und die Arbeit afrikanischer Forscherinnen und Forscher nicht anerkannt. Hier müsse es einen deutlichen Wandel in der Wahrnehmung geben, fordern die Preisträger.  Auch der Bundeskanzler betonte dies und bezeichnete die beiden Forscher als „Inspiration und Ansporn, den Blick zu weiten, alte Denkmuster zurückzulassen und neue Partnerschaften zu gründen“.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Kurzfilm zu der Arbeit der beiden Preisträger, produziert von und (c) Deutsche Welle

Hintergrund

Die Deutsche Afrika Stiftung e.V. (DAS) zeichnet die Wissenschaftler für ihre persönlichen Leistungen in der globalen Bekämpfung der Corona-Pandemie aus sowie stellvertretend für eine hochausgebildete, länderübergreifend arbeitende Forschungsgemeinschaft, die nicht nur in Afrika, sondern auch international, zur Spitze der medizinischen Forschung gehört. Die weltweit erste Meldung einer Virusvariante an die WHO kam aus Südafrika und auch beim Aufkommen der sog. Omikron-Variante waren es Forscherinnen und Forscher aus Botsuana und Südafrika, die als erstes Alarm schlugen: Ende November vergangenen Jahres stießen Dr. Moyo und sein Team des Botswana-Harvard AIDS Institute Partnership auf Auffälligkeiten bei routinemäßigen Genomsequenzierungen von PCR-Tests. Alarmiert von den Befunden teilten sie diese in der regionalen Forschungsdatenbank. Zur ungefähr gleichen Zeit übermittelte auch ein Privatlabor in der südafrikanischen Hauptstadt Pretoria auffällige Daten an das Südafrikanische Netzwerk zur Genomüberwachung (NGS-SA), das unter der Leitung von Prof. de Oliveira, der bereits Ende 2020 die erste Mutation des Coronavirus, die sogenannte Beta-Variante, entdeckt hatte, weiterführende Untersuchungen anstellte. Mithilfe der Untersuchungsbefunde in Südafrika, dem Abgleich mit den übermittelten Daten aus Botsuana und der engen Abstimmung mit den Kolleginnen und Kollegen dort konnte die NGS-SA bereits kurz darauf das Gesundheitsministerium, die WHO und die Öffentlichkeit über die neuentdeckte Variante, genannt Omikron, informieren.

 

Doch statt die wissenschaftliche Leistung der Forschenden anzuerkennen, reagierte die EU, in der die Omikron-Variante sich bereits unentdeckt ausgebreitet hatte, mit rigorosen Reisebeschränkungen für das südliche Afrika – ein Schritt, der nicht nur die europäisch-afrikanischen Beziehungen belastete und fatale wirtschaftliche Auswirkungen auf die Region hatte, sondern auch harte persönliche Konsequenzen für die Forschenden nach sich zog. Prof. de Oliveira und Dr. Moyo wurden persönlich für die negativen Folgen der Reisebeschränkungen verantwortlich gemacht und erhielten sogar Morddrohungen, so dass die beiden zeitweise unter Personenschutz gestellt werden mussten. Dennoch führen sie ihre exzellente Arbeit fort.

 

Prof. Tulio de Oliveira und Dr. Sikhulile Moyo sind somit ein leuchtendes Beispiel für Fachwissen, Integrität und Mut und beweisen zudem, was viele in Deutschland und Europa auf Grund des hiesigen verzerrten Afrikabildes nicht für möglich halten: dass medizinische Spitzenforschung auch in Afrika zu Hause ist und der Kontinent erfolgreiches Krisenmanagement in der globalen Pandemie betreibt, von dem sich auch Europa etwas abschauen kann.

 

Seit 1993 ehrt die Deutsche Afrika Stiftung (DAS) mit dem Deutschen Afrika-Preis© herausragende Persönlichkeiten des afrikanischen Kontinents, die sich in besondere Weise für Demokratie, Frieden, Menschenrechte, nachhaltige Entwicklung, Forschung, Kunst und Kultur oder die gesellschaftlichen Belange in Afrika engagieren. Überreicht wird der Preis von hochrangigen deutschen Politikerinnen und Politkern, darunter etwa Bundesaußenminister Heiko Maas (2020), Bundeskanzlerin Dr. Angela Merkel (2019) oder Bundespräsident Dr. Frank-Walter Steinmeier (2017). Die DAS ist eine überparteiliche Stiftung, die sich für die erfolgreiche Umsetzung der afrikapolitischen Leitlinien der deutschen Bundesregierung einsetzt. Eine ihrer Kernaufgaben ist zudem die Vermittlung eines differenzierten Afrikabildes im politischen Raum und der deutschen Öffentlichkeit.

 

Hintergrundinfos zu den Personen:

Dr. Sikhulile Moyo ist Leiter des Labors an der Botswana-Harvard AIDS Institute Partnership und mit der Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health assoziiert. Das Forschungszentrum ist die führende nationale Einrichtung für HIV/AIDS-Forschung, Schulung und Kapazitätsaufbau in Botsuana. Spezialisiert auf das menschliche Immunschwächevirus HIV, hat der in Simbabwe aufgewachsene Moyo während seiner Laufbahn bereits eine Reihe bedeutender Beiträge zu Studien über die Verhinderung der Mutter-Kind-Übertragung des HI-Virus geleistet. Darüber hinaus war er für die Überwachung der HIV-Inzidenz verantwortlich und hat zu HIV-Mutationen im Zusammenhang mit Arzneimittelresistenz geforscht. Es ist auch dieser Arbeit zu verdanken, dass sein Labor im Zuge der Corona-Pandemie in der Lage war, eine Genomsequenzierung in Echtzeit durchzuführen.

 

Prof. Tulio de Oliveira ist Direktor am Zentrum für Epidemiologie (CERI) der Universität Stellenbosch, Direktor und Mitbegründer der KwaZulu-Natal Research and Innovation Sequencing Platform (KRISP) der Universität KwaZulu-Natal und Leiter des Südafrikanischen Netzwerks zur Genomüberwachung (NGS-SA). Geboren und aufgewachsen in Brasilien, besuchte de Oliveira nach seinem Bachelor die Nelson Mandela School of Medicine der Universität KwaZulu-Natal, wo er seinen Master und Doktor erlangte. Der Bioinformatiker zählt zu den führenden Forschenden in Südafrika und verkörpert in verschiedenen Funktionen, darunter als Professor für Bioinformatik an der School for Data Science and Computational Thinking der Universität Stellenbosch und Lehrender am College of Health Science an der Universität von KwaZulu-Natal, das Gesicht der südafrikanischen Spitzenforschung auf seinem Fachgebiet.

 

Fotos der Deutschen Afrika-Preisträger 2022 stehen nachfolgend zum Download bereit.

Copyrights:

Fotos von Prof. Tulio de Oliveira : ©sun

Pressefoto Tulio de Oliveira 1

Pressefoto Tulio de Oliveira 2

Pressefoto Tulio de Oliveira 3

Fotos von Dr. Sikhulile Moyo: ©bhp

Pressefoto Sikhulile Moyo 1

Pressefoto Sikhulile Moyo 2

 

 

Kontaktinformationen:

Svenja Schindelwig, Wissenschaftliche Referentin

schindelwig@deutsche-afrika-stiftung.de

0152 2741 87 40

 

Multimedia:

deutsche-afrika-stiftung.de

Twitter: @_DASonline

Instagram: @deutscheafrikastiftung

TrägerInnen Deutscher Afrika-Preis