Dr. Uschi Eid und Gwen Lister
1 June 2022, 19:00-20:15hrs, Berlin
Presentation of the Honorary Award of the German Africa Foundation to Gwen Lister
Discussion: Press Freedom in Namibia and Southern Africa

For years, Namibia has been one of the best performing African countries in the media and press freedom rankings conducted annually by Reporters Without Borders in 180 countries around the world. In 2022, it ranks 18th, only two places behind Germany (16th). Historically, Namibia has also played an important role in the struggle for press independence in Africa: In the Windhoek Declaration adopted in 1991, journalists from a total of 38 African countries called the “the establishment, maintenance and fostering of an independent, pluralistic, and free press […] essential to the development and maintenance of democracy in a nation, and for economic development”.

 

One of the key voices in Namibia’s press and a driving force of the Windhoek Declaration: political correspondent, editor-in-chief, and publisher Gwen Lister. Raised during the apartheid regime in South Africa, she moved to South West Africa, now Namibia, after graduating from university. There, she has been championing freedom of the press relentlessly and fearlessly. Defying state repression, numerous arrests, and attempted assassination by the South African secret service, she carried on with her critical coverage. After Namibia’s independence in 1990, Gwen Lister and The Namibian remained cautionary voices monitoring and questioning the new government’s work.

 

Today, she promotes freedom of the press, freedom of expression and independent journalism in Namibia as chairperson of the Namibia Media Trust. Against this background, Gwen Lister will be honoured with the Honorary Award of the German Africa Foundation for her extraordinary commitment to freedom of the press. In a subsequent discussion, you will have the opportunity to jointly discuss the status quo of press freedom as well as the current challenges for female journalists in both Namibia and Southern Africa.

 

 

Programme:

 

Welcoming remarks:

Dr Uschi Eid, President, German Africa Foundation (Download the speech here)

 

Laudation:        

Robert von Lucius, Member of the Board of Trustees, German Africa Foundation (Download the Laudation here)

 

Acceptance speech: 

Gwen Lister, Founder of The Namibian and Honorary Laureate (Download the speech here)

 

Discussion:          

Gwen Lister, Founder of The Namibian and Honorary Laureate

Josey Mahachi, Multimedia Journalist, Deutsche Welle

 

Moderation:       

Klaus A. Hess, President, German-Namibian Society

Event Archive
Filter
Filter
No Results

1.6.2022, 19:00 - 20:15 Uhr, Berlin
Verleihung des Ehrenpreises der Deutschen Afrika Stiftung an Gwen Lister
Diskussion: Pressefreiheit in Namibia und im Südlichen Afrika

Unter den afrikanischen Ländern steht Namibia seit Jahren ganz oben auf der Rangliste der Medien- und Pressefreiheit, die jährlich von Reporter ohne Grenzen in weltweit 180 Ländern erhoben wird, und liegt 2022 mit Platz 18 nur zwei Plätze hinter Deutschland (Platz 16). Auch historisch nimmt Namibia eine wichtige Rolle im Kampf für die Unabhängigkeit der Presse in Afrika ein: In der 1991 verabschiedeten Windhoek Declaration nannten Journalistinnen und Journalisten aus insgesamt 38 afrikanischen Ländern die „Schaffung, Erhaltung und Förderung einer unabhängigen, pluralistischen und freien Presse eine essentielle Voraussetzung für die Entwicklung und Aufrechterhaltung der Demokratie in einem Land und für wirtschaftliche Entwicklung“.

Eine der zentralen Stimmen und treibende Kraft der Windhoek Declaration: die politische Korrespondentin, Chefredakteurin und Herausgeberin Gwen Lister. Aufgewachsen während des Apartheidregimes in Südafrika zog es sie nach ihrem Universitätsabschluss nach Südwestafrika, dem heutigen Namibia, wo sie sich unermüdlich und unerschrocken für die Freiheit der Presse einsetzte. Staatlicher Repression, zahlreicher Verhaftungen und einem versuchten Mordanschlag durch den südafrikanischen Geheimdienst zum Trotz führte sie ihre kritische Berichterstattung fort. Auch nach der Unabhängigkeit Namibias 1990 blieben Gwen Lister und The Namibian mahnende Stimmen, die die Arbeit der neuen Regierung kritisch hinterfragten.

Inzwischen setzt sie sich als Vorsitzende der Stiftung Namibia Media Trust für die Förderung der Pressefreiheit, freie Meinungsäußerung und einen unabhängigen Journalismus in Namibia ein. Vor diesem Hintergrund wurde Gwen Lister für ihr außergewöhnliches Engagement für die Freiheit der Presse mit dem Ehrenpreis der Deutschen Afrika Stiftung geehrt. Anschließenden schilderten Gwen Lister und die Multimedia-Journalistin Josey Mahachi in einer Podiumsdiskussion ihre Erfahrungen und Einschätzungen über den Status quo der Pressefreiheit sowie die aktuellen Herausforderungen für Journalistinnen und Journalisten sowohl in Namibia als auch im Südlichen Afrika.

 

Programm:

Begrüßung:

Dr. Uschi Eid, Präsidentin, Deutsche Afrika Stiftung (Das Grußwort finden Sie hier zum Download)

 

Laudatio:

Robert von Lucius, Kuratoriumsmitglied, Deutsche Afrika Stiftung (Die Laudatio finden Sie hier zum Download)

 

Dankesrede:

Gwen Lister, Gründerin von The Namibian und Ehrenpreisträgerin (Hier finden Sie die Dankesrede)

 

Diskussion: 

Gwen Lister, Gründerin von The Namibian und Ehrenpreisträgerin
Josey Mahachi, Multimedia-Journalistin, Deutsche Welle

 

Moderation:

Klaus A. Hess, Präsident, Deutsch-Namibische Gesellschaft

Veranstaltungsarchiv
Filtern
Filtern